CYL releases 2013 mentor list

Calgary, AB – The Cattlemen's Young Leaders (CYL) Program has finalized its list of mentors for the 2013-14 program and, in keeping with past years, the roll-call reads like an A-list of the beef cattle industry's who's-who. Here is a list of the mentor-mentee pairings, with full biographies available at

2013 CYL Mentors and Mentees:

Betty Green (Fisher Branch, MB) and Carollyne Kehler (Steinbach, MB)
Cherie Copithorne-Barnes (Jumping Pound, AB) and Claire Windeyer (Calgary, AB)
Corinne Gibson (Fir Mountain, SK) and Becky Page (Didsbury, AB)
David Bolduc (Stavely, AB) and Lance Leachman (Maidstone, SK)
Dennis Serhienko (Maymont, SK) and Meghan Black (Bloomfield, NB)
Doug Wray (Irricana, AB) and Cuyler Huffman (Williams Lake, BC)
Garnet Altwasser (Brooks, AB) and Kelcy Elford (Caronport, SK)
Heather Travis (Mississauga, ON) and Austen Anderson (Swan River, MB)
Johanne Ross (Minnedosa, MB) and Carla Schmitt (Saskatoon, SK)
Marty Seymour (White City, SK) and Noa Mullin (Feversham, ON)
Michael Latimer (Calgary, AB) and Amanda Elzinga (Sherwood Park, AB)
Mike McMorris (Guelph, ON) and Daniel Doerksen (Gem, AB)
Scott Dickson (Red Deer, AB) and Shelby Froland (Hughenden, AB)
Rod Guilford (Clearwater, MB) and Andrea Bertholet (Hartney, MB)
Rory Francis (Charlottetown, PEI) and Daniel Muir (Charlottetown, PEI)
Tim Wiens (Regina, SK) and Debra Murphy (Altario, AB)

The mentors were vetted by the CYL mentor selection committee. Mentors and mentees are beginning their mentorship journey by completing their road map that will outline their activities and learning objectives for the year. CYL mentorships include industry events such as the Beef Value Chain Roundtable, Beef Innovations Symposium, International Livestock Congress, the Calgary Stampede Cattle Trail and the Canadian Roundtable for Sustainable Beef.