Cattlemen’s Young Leaders announces 2017-2018 Mentors

Calgary, AB – The Cattlemen’s Young Leaders (CYL) program is pleased to announce the mentors for the 2017-18 year. In keeping with the exceptional mentoring opportunities the program is known for, the selected industry experts will provide a wealth of knowledge and experience to the 16 finalists to be mentored this year.

The 2017-2018 Mentors and Mentees are: 

Taylor Grafton (BC) & Mentor Mike Munton

Allan Hjertaas (AB) & Mentor John Griswold


Andrea Haywood-Farmer (BC) & Mentor Emily Murray


Melissa Lee (AB) & Mentor Clint Morasch


Alecia Karapita (BC) & Mentor Rob Smith


Cale Toews (AB) & Mentor Dr. Cody Creelman


Carley Henniger (BC) & Mentor Bob Lowe

Lacey McRae (AB) & Mentors Kelly & Julie Anne Howe


Lee Creech (AB) & Mentor Travis Toews


Matt Kumlin (AB) & Mentor Dave Solverson


James Jenkins (AB) & Mentor John Cross


Quinn Anderson Folk (SK) & Mentor Shelley Jones

Ben Wilson (AB) & Mentor Phil Braig


Kaitlyn Polegi (SK) & Mentor Jill Harvie


Ashely Gaudet (AB) & Mentors Rob & Gail Hamilton


Rachel Verwey (MB) & Mentor Tara Mulhern Davidson

CYL Mentor biographies will soon join the Mentee biographies at

The CYL would like to express thanks to the mentor selection committee comprised of Andrea Brocklebank, Marvin Slingerland, Katie Songer, Rob Giguere, Jerome Chamberlain, Emily Murray, Jill Harvie and Emily Ritchie. The CYL thanks each committee member for bringing their respective expertise, experience and networks to the discussion. The CYL also greatly appreciates the general industry support it receives each year.

The CYL program was initiated in 2010 by the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association (CCA) to engage young people in the industry. By providing industry specific training, experience and guidance, CYL has positively impacted the careers of more than 100 young leaders in the beef industry to date. The program is made possible by our Foundation Partners: McDonalds Canada, UFA Cooperative Ltd, Cargill, MNP, and the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association, along with our Gold Sponsors: New Holland Agriculture and Farm Credit Canada.

For further information, contact:

Emily Ritchie

Youth Leadership Coordinator | Canadian Cattlemen’s Association

403.295.5583 |