Cattlemen’s Young Leaders announces 2013 Mentorship Recipients

Calgary, AB – The Cattlemen’s Young Leaders (CYL) development program is pleased to announce its 2013 national mentorship recipients. The 16 recipients were selected following the final selection round at the CYL Spring Forum in Ottawa during the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association (CCA) Annual Meeting. A total of 22 semi-finalists vied for a spot in the national youth initiative of the CCA.

The 2013 CYL mentorship recipients are:

British Columbia: Cuyler Huffman
Alberta: Amanda Elzinga, Becky Page, Claire Windeyer, Daniel Doerksen, Debra Murphy, Shelby Froland
Saskatchewan: Carla Schmitt, Kelcy Elford, Lance Leachman
Manitoba: Andrea Bertholet, Austen Anderson, Carolynne Kehler
Ontario: Noa Mullin
New Brunswick: Meghan Black
Nova Scotia: Daniel Muir

CCA director and CYL committee member Rob Somerville said the level of interest industry youth continue to show in the mentorship program is heartening. “The CYL program offers unique industry experiences and the opportunity to learn from seasoned mentors, teachings that these future leaders will ultimately draw on years from now to help shape the future of Canada’s cattle industry,” Somerville said.